Ryan Giggs make L'Equipe's all-time European Cup XI

There are only three current players in the starting XI, with the remainder being dominated by the successful AC Milan and Real Madrid teams of past generations

Current players Lionel Messi, Ryan Giggs and Clarence Seedorf have made French newspaper L'Equipe's all-time top Champions League team.

The remainder of the starting XI is comprised of former greats, with everyone in the side having won Europe's top club competition at least twice.

Between the sticks the publication have selected Sepp Maier, who triumphed in the tournament three years running between 1974 and 1976 with Bayern Munich.

A back four of Liverpool's Phil Neal, German legend Franz Beckenbauer and AC Milan duo Paolo Maldini and Franco Baresi make the grade ahead of stiff competition.

The three men still active in the game are joined by Johan Cruyff in midfield, who picked up three winner's medals with Ajax in the 1970s.

In attack, five-times winner and Real Madrid legend Alfredo Di Stefano is paired with Marco van Basten, who lifted the trophy twice with AC Milan.

Team in full: Maier (Bayern) - Neal (Liverpool), Baresi (AC Milan), Beckenbauer (Bayern), Maldini (AC Milan) - Seedorf (Ajax, AC Milan, Real Madrid) - Messi (Barcelona), Cruyff (Ajax), Giggs (Manchester United) - Di Stefano (Real Madrid), van Basten (AC Milan).

L'Equipe also ranks teams by their record, with Real Madrid leading the way, followed by AC Milan and Bayern Munich.

Team listing: 1 - Real Madrid, 2- AC Milan, 3 - Bayern Munich, 4 - Barcelona, 5 - Liverpool, 6 - Manchester United.

Finally, the French daily ranked the most successful countries, with Spain at the top, Germany second and England third.