Sir Alex & Giggs honoured

Sir Alex Ferguson and Ryan Giggs were honoured at the Premier League's 20 seasons awards ceremony.

Manchester United boss Ferguson was named the best manager of the last 20 seasons after guiding the Old Trafford club to 12 Premier League titles.

Ferguson pipped Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho, Harry Redknapp and David Moyes to the manager's award.

Veteran midfielder Giggs won the best player award after beating off a host of top names, including Dennis Bergkamp, Roy Keane and Thierry Henry.

The Welshman has made 909 appearances for United and is the most decorated player in the English game.

The Premier League's 20 Seasons celebrations, which are designed to honour the players, managers and football that has taken place over the two decades of the world's most watched and supported football league, saw hundreds of thousands of football fans from around the world vote for their favourite moments.


The Premier League 20 Seasons Awards has seen 300,000 fans casting over 4.4m votes in five categories: Goal, Match, Save, Goal Celebration and Fantasy Team of the 20 Seasons.

Wayne Rooney won the Premier League Goal of the 20 Seasons Award for his spectacular overhead kick against Manchester City.

The top three strikes garnered half of the public vote, with Rooney's overhead kick in the Manchester derby in February 2011 getting 26% of the vote. Second, with 19%, was Dennis Bergkamp's impudent flick and spin goal against Newcastle United in March 2002. Third was his former Arsenal team-mate Thierry Henry, who took 15% of the vote for his flicked volley versus Manchester United in October 2000.

Former Blackburn and Newcastle striker Alan Shearer scooped the award for most goals in the Premier League after netting 260 goals.

Shearer netted 112 goals for Blackburn and 148 for hometown club Newcastle.

David James won the award for the most clean sheets with 173 shut-outs in the Premier League at the 20 seasons awards.

The former England goalkeeper represented Liverpool, Aston Villa, West Ham, Manchester City and Portsmouth during his time in the Premier League.

Manchester United dominated the Premier League fantasy teams, with six of Sir Alex Ferguson's sides over the years making the public XI, while seven Red Devils made the cut in the expert choice.

Fantasy Team - Public

Peter Schmeichel, Ashley Cole, Tony Adams, Nemanja Vidic, Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Steven Gerrard, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer

Fantasy Team - Experts

Peter Schmeichel, Ashley Cole, Tony Adams, Rio Ferdinand, Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Roy Keane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer

Match of the past 20 seasons:

  1. Manchester United 4-3 Manchester City, 20/09/2009 - 18%
  2. Liverpool 4-3 Newcastle United, 03/04/1996 - 16%
  3. Liverpool 4-4 Arsenal, 21/04/2009 - 15%

Goal celebration of the past 20 seasons

  1. Eric Cantona, Manchester United v Sunderland, 1996/97
  2. Lomana Lua Lua, Newcastle United, multiple occasions
  3. Jimmy Bullard, Manchester City v Hull City, 2009/10

Save of the past 20 seasons

  1. Craig Gordon, Sunderland v Bolton, 18/12/2010
  2. Peter Schmeichel, Newcastle v Manchester United, 21/12/1997
  3. Jussi Jaaskelainen, Manchester United v Bolton Wanderers, 20/10/2001